I love this city, it has my heart.

I probably am a little bias to think that the city I live in is one of the best I’ve ever been to. I guess you either love, hate, or are indifferent to the place you grow up in. I have friends who can’t wait to get to the city, to turn their backs on narrow country lanes, farm yard smells and village neighbourhoods,  in favour of moving to the abundant energy of the bustling urban environment. Then others who despise the cities they live in, and they crave for open spaces and picturesque dusks and dawns. The grass is always greener. But whilst I do love the countryside and I am partial to a long wander in the rolling hills that surround Bristol,I am a home fan, a supporter of my birthplace. I love Bristol, it has my heart. I think why I admire it so much is because I am constantly learning something new about it. If you walk any where in Bristol new or old,  you will find something inspiring and different.

Bristol sits in the South-West of England, some refer to it as the capital of the South-West, I can definitely agree to that title. Technically I don’t live in Bristol, yes I do have a Bristol postcode but it is quite possibly the last and most distant postcode of the infamous BS1. Think what you like but I do live in Bristol. To be honest Keynsham is a 15 minute drive form the centre of Bristol, and it is a place where you practically know someone who knows that person, is a thriving little community boasting weekly markets  and a high-street mainly full of three types of shops: Coffee, Charity and banks. Something for everyone but if that’s not what takes your fancy Eastenders, BBC’s and the United Kingdoms most lovedsoap, is being filmed here next week. The high-street will be closed from 6pm -6am. Hold tight on a blog on this, Keynsham gets excited by the little things.

Back to Bristol because I am a Bristolian, regardless of what the majority of my city dweller friends think.  Bristol has the most beautiful famed and modest bridges, cobbled stones contrasting with new builds that are architecturally stunning. And I couldn’t talk about Bristol without mentioning the B word, Banksy, but the its not only Banksy but the whole of Bristol is artistically engaged, graffiti not only by the man himself but a street full of up and coming artists work sprayed on a discreet entrance to the cities central shopping district. There is a river and plenty of places to sit by it, grazing spots everywhere, where you can spend hours lolling around and it feels like a couple of minutes. Things to do and see, things to say and things to experience. Its big enough to keep you busy but small enough that bumping into a friend is normal. It’s not just me who loves Bristol about a 80% of people I went to University with have moved here. One of my best friends has just moved here, I thought I would spare her a few days before I went to visit her new home but in Bristol you are sure enough going to have a chance meeting. On my way back from work, a dull day at work may I add, I saw Sophie standing there in the distance I stopped and waited until she saw me, it was a surprise but I knew it would happen sooner or later.

Today the city was full of buzz as the annual Bristol Open Doors Day meant that places that are usually restricted to the public are opened, tours take you around behind the scenes of the working city. There was a chance to go underground Temple Meads train station, to see the old air raid shelter. You could go in old churches and backstage at the famous Colston Hall. The city was shining, literally the sun was out and it was a hot September day. People had flocked to the city and with beers and ciders they were relaxing by the river. It is a beautiful Saturday and Bristol makes the most of these days.

If you are ever in the South West, make a trip to Bristol, you will always have me, your Bristolian friend to guide you round the ins and outs and all arounds of my favourite city.

8 thoughts on “I love this city, it has my heart.

  1. This post makes me want to go to Bristol! I lived at Worcester College in Oxford for awhile and loved the English culture. My aim is to go back one day! Thanks for this beautifully written post 🙂

  2. Bravo! I love everything about this, starting with the title. Let us all love where we live, explore it with continuing energy and curiosity — we can do that, and love other places as well, but oh, so important to love where we live. (And… thank you for liking my post from BC — a good example of loving other places, while also loving where I live, which is Toronto)

What do you think?

